The meal that almost was

This is a story of redemption, of the little restaurant that failed and promised to make it better.

Last year we had an office Christmas meal at our local pub/restaurant, and I wrote a blog about it, suffice to say, it sucked. The food was bad, like really bad, and the service was slow, painfully slow, and all in all it was pretty awful. This year they promised us it would be better if we brought our business back to them.

As I prepared for round two, a funny thing happened, I couldn’t go. Short staffed due to unforeseen circumstances, I looked on as my comrades took their life into a nearly complete lack of danger. Truth be told I was a bit put out. I wanted to see if they actually got better (it actually sounds like they did from what my colleagues tell me).

So I was near writing a blog about nothing, but realised I said I was going to do this once a week. So here I am, doing my best despite the lack of occasion. Which is so utterly untrue, something quite exciting happened today, me and my wife’s wedding rings arrived. See, it’s a funny story, and one that comes with way to long of an intro.

Me and my wife got married…

So it’s not really funny, but we kept it the best kept secret to ever be. My wife and I live in a Camphill Community, if you want to know what that is, click this link. Basically, keeping secrets is hard enough in any work environment, but doubly in a place like this. So keeping this secret was actually a big deal. Both of our families live far away, and you can’t invite some people and not others. So we invited no one except our two witnesses. One of the witnesses made us wooden rings for the ceremony (which was pretty ace), and we did the dirty deed in the beginning of Dec. It was all very cloak and dagger with a baby style, and really quite nice. We had ordered some rings, but because we were so lazy-faire (yes it is purposefully spelled wrong), we didn’t order ourselves proper rings until just before the wedding, but they arrived today, and that is my big exciting news.

4 thoughts on “The meal that almost was

  1. I wish to take exception to 3 things……some of your grammar is incorrect, some of your spelling is incorrect – and referring to your wedding as “the dirty deed”…… other than that – I’m enjoying your blog 🙂 Love you, Mom

Leave a Reply

