Politically Misguided

So i’m thinking about the political race in the states, living in Britain my mother fills me in from time to time about how annoying all the ads are.  which i’m happy that i don’t have to listen to.

Here are my dilemmas  Obama didn’t make the cut, and Romney is a heartless tit.  I was pro Obama, though I must admit I didn’t vote last time, i know, shame on me.  But this time I don’t know if I want to vote.  I was part of the Ron Paul crowd, but I kinda knew from the beginning that Ron was a long shot.

But thats what makes America great, even the guy with the long shot……  nope, thats not what makes America great anymore.  in fact, America just isn’t a place where anyone can make it.  It use to be hard work, good character and money counted for something.  Now only money counts, and luck, lots of luck.  What makes America great is the illusion it still feeds to the American population.  That it is somehow better than the rest of the world.

Then again, I’m a terrible patriot.  I love my country, don’t get me wrong, and I wish it was a place worth bragging about, but it isn’t.  The political divide is polarising the country, the government is hell bent on scaring the public into submission and wasting time and money on monitoring its own citizens, and hell, the rest of the world too.  We have a military larger than most countries, our military costs more than Sweden’s GDP.  And yet we have unaffordable universities, unaffordable healthcare and the worst financial inequality since 1928.

So, let’s stop spending money on political campaigns, let’s reduce our military spending, let’s force corporations and wealthy individuals to actually pay the taxes they owe and cut out the tax loopholes, let us NOT raise taxes, invest in alternative energies, and stop picking fights with little middle eastern countries.

I love my country, but I feel like its doing everything wrong.  So here is a toast to Ron Paul, I’m sorry you didn’t make it, because I have no faith in Obama or Romney.

Sincerely,

An honest Liberal.

 

PS the cartoon can be found here: http://www.toonpool.com/cartoons/The%20Anatomy%20of%20US%20Politics_66293

Leave a Reply

